History

FROM PLINY TO MODERN TIMES

History tells us that vines have been cultivated here since ancient times. Two thousand years ago, Latin authors such as Martial, Pliny the Elder and Columelle and the Greek Plutarch celebrated Côte Rôtie wine under the name “wine from Vienne”.

Setting up the vineyards was a formidable task, and was carried out over a period of more than twenty centuries.
The first accurate written documents concerning Ampuis and Côte-Rôtie go back to the 6th century,.

During the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, the reputation of Ampuis wines continued to grow. Before the Revolution, Côtes-Rôtie wines were sent to royal tables in England, Russia, Prussia and, of course, France .
The vineyards reached their production peak in 1890. Even the smallest folds in the hillsides were cultivated, as long as they were exposed to the sun. Some parcels forced winegrowers to carry their harvest for nearly a kilometre along particularly difficult goatherds’ paths. .
At this time, the ravages of phylloxera and other illnesses did not manage to dampen the winegrowers’ enthusiasm. But although they were able to overcome these calamities, the great 1914-1918 war came along to ruin their efforts. By taking more than one hundred and fifty men, the war condemned part of the hillsides to abandonment. This setback was not overcome until the early 1960s.
Today, the Côte-Rôtie vineyards are back to their original size. More than a hundred winegrowers make a living out of them. Over 40 % of production is exported, for the pleasure of wine lovers the world over.

 
   

Création de site internet - JB Créa Design

DE PLINE A NOS JOURS

L'histoire nous apprend que la vigne est cultivée ici depuis les temps les plus reculés.
Il y a deux mille ans déjà; les auteurs latins Martial, Pline l'Ancien, Columelle, le grec Plutarque célébraient le vin ce Côte Rôtie sous le nom de « vin viennois ».

La constitution du vignoble représenta un travail formidable, qui s'est poursuivit pendant plus de vingt siècle.
C'est au VIème siècle que nous retrouvons les premiers documents écrits précis concernant Ampuis et la Côte-Rôtie.

Durant le Moyen Age et la Renaissance, la réputation des vins d'Ampuis n'a fait que s'accroître. Avant la Révolution, on note des envois de vins des Côtes-Rôtie vers les tables princières d'Angleterre, de Russie, de Prusse et bien sûr de France.

Le vignoble atteint son apogée en 1890; les moindres replis de coteaux étaient cultivés; pourvu qu'ils fussent exposés au soleil. Quelques parcelles obligeaient les vignerons à porter leur vendange sur près d'un kilomètre, par des sentiers de chèvres particulièrement pénibles.

A cette époque, les attaques de phylloxéra et autres maladies n'entamèrent pas la volonté des vignerons; mais, alors qu'ils avaient su maîtriser ces calamités, la grande guerre de 1914-1918 vint ruiner leurs efforts; en prenant plus de cent cinquante hommes, elle condamna une partie des coteaux à l'abandon. Cette épreuve ne fut surmontée qu'à l'orée des années soixante.

Aujourd'hui, Le vignoble de Côte-Rôtie a retrouvé sa taille d'origine. il fait vivre plus d'une centaine de vignerons. Près 40 % de sa production est exportée et fait le bonheur des amateurs de vin du monde entier.

 
   

Création de site internet - JB Créa Design